New Board Members Announced

We are excited to announce the addition of three new members to our Board of Directors. Eileen Dengler, Sarah Bagby, and Calvin Crosby bring decades upon decades of book-industry experience and firsthand knowledge of the specific needs of booksellers to Binc.

“As we continue to help booksellers nationwide, we are both honored and humbled to add these three industry leaders to the Binc Board of Directors,” says Binc’s Executive Director, Pam French.

Eileen Dengler is the executive director of the New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association (NAIBA) – a position she has held for twenty years. She also brings ten years’ experience serving as the Director of Meetings and Conventions for the American Booksellers Association (ABA). She also ran the annual ABA Convention prior to it becoming BookExpo America. Dengler brings decades of nonprofit and leadership experience and intimate knowledge about the needs of booksellers to support Binc’s mission.

Sarah Bagby is the owner of Watermark Books & Café in Wichita, Kansas where she has overseen three location moves, the addition of a café, and the founding of Watermark Publishing. Sarah served on the board of the ABA, and she also brings extensive leadership and governance skills to Binc; she is a past president of the Midwest Independent Booksellers Association (MIBA) and has also served on the ABA Booksellers Advisory Committee. She currently serves on the LIBRIS board – an insurance company owned by the ABA.
Calvin Crosby has over a quarter century of book industry experience. He has been a frontline bookseller – and in his heart, still is. His broad bookselling experience ranges from merchandising to human resources, store management to marketing, to non-book merchandise buying. He was a long-standing Northern California Independent Booksellers Association (NCIBA) board member and past President of the organization. He was the Sales and Marketing Director for McSweeney’s and now serves the NCIBA as their Executive Director.

As we welcome these three new board members, we also say farewell to board members Anne KubekWanda Jewell, and Deb Leonard who have completed their terms of service on Binc’s Board. Each of these, now former, board members brought ceaseless passion for Binc’s mission, thoughtful decision making to the governance process, and extraordinary dedication to Binc’s mission of serving the needs of booksellers across the nation. Binc would like to thank them each for their commitment and for all the good work they accomplished while serving on Binc’s board.

The Full Binc Board of Directors for 2019:
Executive Committee: 
President – Lori Tucker-Sullivan, Wayne State University
Vice President – Matthew Gildea, Joseph-Beth Booksellers
Treasurer & Chair – Mary Richards, Forest Health
Program Chair – Ken White, Query Books
Secretary – Christie Roehl, Duluth Trading Company

Board Members:
Sarah Bagby, Watermark Books
Julia Cowlishaw, Ingram Content Group
Calvin Crosby, Northern California Independent Booksellers Association (NCIBA)
Eileen Dengler, New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association (NAIBA)
Rockelle Henderson, Rock Inked, Inc.
Kate McCune, HarperCollins Publishers
Annie Philbrick, Bank Square Books
Jen Reynolds, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Chuck Robinson, Chuck Robinson Associates